Tension

The inherent contradiction between “back porch” (read: relaxation) and “blogging” (read: work) produces its own dynamic tension. I had hoped this might spur such a near-constant stream of consciousness creativity that I would never find myself at a loss for words. This has not proven to be the case.
Still I seek to carve this little space out here for reflection and quietude more than raging creativity. I will take what I can get. And I really do need to create a habit of mindful meditation as well. Let this blog-space serve as a journal for that part of the journey as well.

January 27, 2013

January 27, 2013


Our year here at Casa Dexter kinda gets off to a slow start. First there’s our anniversary on January 7th, and that inevitably feels more pivotal than New Year’s for us. Then, three weeks later, it’ s Lucas’s birthday, which often feels like another start. We did not have him around last year, as he was in Fairbanks, so it will feel doubly good to have him with us tomorrow.
For now, the tension resolves, or more likely dissolves, as I surrender to the relaxation on this balmy January Sunday…

About bullersbackporch

I am a native Austinite, a high-tech Luddite, lover of music, movies and stories and a born trainer-explainer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

