Habit forming

One of my unspoken resolutions this year, as always, is to adopt new, “good” habits: helpful, healthful and productive. This is nothing new. I have often done this before. I have filled small journals with my resolutions, attempts and failures. Actually, the documentation of failure is usually the end of that particular journaling effort.

Still I return again and again, and so it is now. I am taking it slowly this time, starting with the restoration of the simplest of my writings habits, the daily “freewrite.” As the name explains, I get to write about anything I want to as long as I do it daily. The standard measure gone for forming a habit is repetition over 21 days. I can report I made that.

So now it’s on to habit #2: exercise. I want to build up to walking 3-5 times a week, with an “epic win” goal of walking cumulatively enough for a marathon. I have a baseline now of two walks a week, and here I am halfway there before noon on Sunday. It would be good to fit in some in-house exercise as well, but that’s not part of the goal.

I also want to layer more writing on top of the freewrite. This blog and the proposed one James and I have discussed represent a distinct direction, but I also intend to work up something on the Runaway Scrape this year.

IMG_0091
Here’s a book you’d think I’d’ve already read, but so far, I have only looked at as it stands on display in our living room. I did get a chance to hear the author, Charles Duhigg, give a mini-presentation about the book at SXSW Interactive last year, so I suppose I might read it yet, as I enjoyed his talk quite a little bit.

About bullersbackporch

I am a native Austinite, a high-tech Luddite, lover of music, movies and stories and a born trainer-explainer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

