Tech? Help!

I love technology…I hate technology…
No doubt I’ve already written that sometime in this blog, as it remains a constant of my life. When I use the phrase “high-tech Luddite,” you gotta notice the high-tech portion precedes the Luddite description. Like most folks, I really love technology – until it doesn’t do what I want it to/it’s supposed to.

Last week, I awoke to discover my home wireless network gone. Disappeared. Vanished in the night. Never did discover exactly why, but quickly traced the problem to the Time Capsule I bought last December, which was not properly connecting to the internet. Bummer. After spending a couple of hours trying to troubleshoot the thing patiently (reset…reset modem…reset Time Capsule…reset modem….), I gave up and set up a wireless network using the laptop as bridge from the cable modem to other computers. Clunky work-around, but it got the house back online.

So I took the Time Capsule to the Apple store, got the replacement Monday, hooked it up and – same damned problem. Double bummer. After some fruitless troubleshooting, I went back to the work-around. Feeling flustered, I did not even try to troubleshoot the system on Tuesday, instead giving myself the day off from fretting about it.
So yesterday, I awoke filled with dread about going back through the repetitive steps of troubleshooting. I had researched additional avenues of help – phone conference w/ Apple tech, local in-house networking techs — but figured I’d better go through the motions again first.
It fired up nicely on my first round of troubleshooting. Rather than ponder why it did it so easily then after failing so utterly on Monday, I just happily accepted the magic of technology and logged back on.

Now if I could just figure out why the printer won’t work. (background noise: “aaargh…”)

About bullersbackporch

I am a native Austinite, a high-tech Luddite, lover of music, movies and stories and a born trainer-explainer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

