My Favorite “Secret” Bookstore

SXSW bookstore

kid in a candy store!

I love books.

And I love bookstores. One of my all-time favorite bookstores remains a hidden treasure: the SXSW Bookstore.

The SXSW Bookstore is a candy store for the creative mind that only pops up once a year on the 4th floor of the Austin Convention Center. Just browsing the tightly packed shelves in the crowded aisle opens your eyes, stirs the imagination and exhilarates the mind.

Resistance to the temptation proves futile every year, so some of my prior buys include:

100 Things Every Designer Needs to Know About People

      , Susan Weinschenk

Sketchnote Handbook

      , Mike Rohde

Gamestorming

      , Dave Gray, Sunni Brown, and James Mcanufo

The Creative Process Illustrated

    , Glen Griffin and Deborah Morrisson

And those are just the ones on the “To Read” shelf! This year, I added two more to that shelf as well:

How to be Interesting

      , Jessica Hagy

The Power of Visual Storytelling

    , Ekaterina Walter and Jessica Gioglio

The best part of the SXSW Bookstore: hearing and meeting the authors themselves. While not authors make SXSW appearances, those that do stage book signings. I met Dan Pink when he released Whole New Mind and picked up his manga business manual, The Adventures of Johnny Bunko, 2 years later (free!) at one of his sessions. I bought Amazing Things Will Happen after hearing CC Chapman read a short segment at SXSW Interactive 2013. And though I had already read (and loved!) The Art of Explanation as an e-book, I got to meet the author, Lee Lefever, at his book signing by the SXSW bookstore just last year.
I’d share more about each and every one of those books with you right now — but I’ve got some reading to do.

About bullersbackporch

I am a native Austinite, a high-tech Luddite, lover of music, movies and stories and a born trainer-explainer.
This entry was posted in books, creativity, doodle, games, Learning, storytelling, SXSW, visual thinking. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

