Life in These United States; As I have observed in the last 80 years.

 

G.M.C. Massey, 1952

G.M.C. Massey

Today we feature guest blogger, G.M.C. Massey, my grandfather. Actually, this is a small fragment from his memoirs written in 1960. In future posts here, I’ll share other segments from the manuscripts.

With me to tell this story in 300 words; is impossible: I need 3,000 or more.

To say in the beginning: I was born, and have lived in Texas all my life, Have traveled out of the state very little; Have taught school for 19 years, And have moved to, and lived where ever I was teaching, And have been a close observer. We have every thing that we need for our subsistence in the U.S.A., And I can say, even in Texas: So that we could live and subsist upon what we have here without the rest of the Nations of the Earth; But for the Economy, & greatest benefit to all that are concerned: We need the rest of the world as friends, And beneficiaries: Hence their trade. Now at this time we have every climate, Agricultural Product, And about every mineral that is used throughout the rest of the world.

I have been active in the professional fields: Teaching, Preaching, in politics having run for Congress, to fill out the term left By Gordon Russell, when he was appointed to a federal Judgeship, in the 3rd Congressional district.

Then I farmed, Taught School, traded-Bought cotton, And carried the Star mail, And then was in the P.O. employ for 30 years, Have retired 10 years since, Have lost my sight from cataracts, been operated on for them; And since then I had to have one of my lower limbs amputated, And with the other foot, A diabetic; there are very little that I can do about the Artificial limb, I wear it all my waking time, but I walk as little as I can do with: hence I can never be as proficient in the use of it as I need to be.

I have always been very active in civic affairs, But not very successful.

Sincerely submitted,
G.M.C. Massey

About bullersbackporch

I am a native Austinite, a high-tech Luddite, lover of music, movies and stories and a born trainer-explainer.
This entry was posted in Buller, Casa Dexter, Family, G.M.C. Massey, Memoirs, storytelling, Texas and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Life in These United States; As I have observed in the last 80 years.

  1. Sue says:

    Love the written history digitized. Fascinating ironies of life.

  2. Pingback: Behind the Scenes w/ G.M.C. Massey | Buller's back porch

  3. Pingback: Happy Birthday to my Big Brother, Scott | Buller's back porch

  4. Pingback: “Discipline” in a Rural Texas School, 1900 | Buller's back porch

  5. Pingback: A Rural Texas Schoolteacher Remembers… | Buller's back porch

  6. Pingback: Rural East Texas Life in the 1880’s | Buller's back porch

Leave a Reply

