Casa Dexter Hits 400

Casa Dexter just hit a grand total of 400 uploads!

I started out posting clips from my ACTV community access producer days in the 80’s — “fossilized videos,” as I called them.  More recently, I’ve been adding newer videos, mostly live Austin music. These are not slick. Often, there’s dim lighting, shaky camerawork, and audio nowhere near studio quality. By accepting these less-than-perfect shooting conditions, however, I have captured some amazing clips through the years. The Casa Dexter catalog offers dozens of performers, but 3 in particular have made multiple appearances.

With 56 videos as of today, Will T. Massey tops the list of Casa Dexter appearances.

Full disclosure: Will is my cousin, and I’ve been a fan since his earliest days playing at Chicago House, before a national release noted in Rolling Stone and Time magazine. I even managed to travel parts of Italy in 2006 with him on a return tour after 15 years’ absence. Uploading a new clip from Will is always delightful, as he constantly adds new, heart-felt soulful songs to his repertoire — and I love to feature those on Casa Dexter.

The Austin Lounge Lizards (5-time winners of the Austin Music Awards for “Best None of the Above” category) have been delivering hilarious satire with bluegrass virtuosity since the 80s. Back in 1986, I caught an entire show at the Texas Showdown (“The Club that Ate Raul’s”) on tape. Add in a few clips from their more recent sets at the Armadillo Christmas Bazaar (2008, 2009) and Casa Dexter can offer you 46 Lizard tunes. That oughta keep you busy!

Another Casa Dexter favorite has been the Better Than TV Players, a live comedy sketch group active in Austin back in the 80s. We’ve got 31 of their skits here, and I also helped them set up their own YouTube channel for even more footage they had from other sources.


YouTube has been a boon in many ways for many people. For me, it’s meant an outlet for existing footage and a reason to shoot more. So far, I’ve got 400 clips up there.
And I’m not about to stop now.

About bullersbackporch

I am a native Austinite, a high-tech Luddite, lover of music, movies and stories and a born trainer-explainer.
This entry was posted in Austin, Buller, Casa Dexter, music, musicians, video, youtube and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

