A Visitor on the Road to Christoval

Another story from the memoirs of my grandfather, G.M.C. Massey. 

G.M.C. Massey — date unknownAfter My first wife passed away, and I had married again; I was still on the Sonora route; and this was on the 27th of December in 1919; and I was by myself in a model “T” coming back from Sonora; and the mail car was ahead of me; and I was just taking my time; AND there appeared to me a woman ahead of me and just to the right of the highway; and she just kept the same distance ahead of me; and I just stopped; and as I stopped the car; I killed the engine; and in those days we didn’t have starters; So it proved to be My wife that Had passed away the year before; And I began to talk to her; and she stopped me by saying that she had come to warn me of the danger to our two oldest children, and not to hear me; Whereupon I just listened; and she told me that the Girl was keeping company with a man that would bring sorrow down upon the family; And for me to take steps to stop her from keeping his company; And that the boy was working where he ought not to work that the environments were detrimental to him; and that it would be better for him if he didn’t work anywhere than to go on there. And wound up by saying that our Baby is four years old today; And She just vanished then and there; as she had come.

Well, There was something else for me to think about, and consider; For I Knew that there was something from Heaven: And I didn’t want to be found guilty of doing that that was detrimental to the Children, or anyone else concerned; And therefore I just gathered the children, concerned in the Vision, Around me with the present wife, and told them of the Visitor that I had had that evening down on the road below Christoval; And I didn’t leave out anything; And it had the desired effect; And soon I had everything under control; And they were moving along as well as could be expected; And that has been a beacon in my life that has caused me to listen when something has happened of a drastic nature; And has probably been to my, or you might say, our Benefits.

About bullersbackporch

I am a native Austinite, a high-tech Luddite, lover of music, movies and stories and a born trainer-explainer.
This entry was posted in Buller, Family, G.M.C. Massey, Memoirs and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

