A Bashful Encounter, late 19th Century East Texas

G.M.C. "Cade" Massey

G.M.C. “Cade” Massey

Guest blogger G.M.C. Massey (my grandfather) confesses in his memoirs to an instance of awkward shyness as a youth.

I was so bashful that it was pitiful. I remember that when I had gone ever so far to a party, I would stay on the outside till I could peep around and see who al was there. Then I would slip in so that I could not be seen till I became accustomed to the surroundings. Then when I was snapped by some little girl I would have to go and snap some other girl that nearly killed me.

I remember on one occasion I snapped a girl I admired very much and while we were holding up for the other couple to chase the other, I asked the girl that I liked so well to accept a chat with me as soon as we were both free.

When we were both free we sat over next to the wall on a trunk to talk and I was very busy trying to think what to say for I did not want to make any mistake. The girl of course wanted me to lead off in the conversation and I waited so long that I guess she got tired of waiting and she asked what I said. I said, “Nothing yet.” And then she asked me If I was not going to? And that was all that was needed for me. I just got up and got my hat and overcoat and went to my horse and got on him and went straight home, thinking what a fool I was and I vowed to myself that I would not be such a fool any more.

I guess that was my last time to run out of anything to say.

About bullersbackporch

I am a native Austinite, a high-tech Luddite, lover of music, movies and stories and a born trainer-explainer.
This entry was posted in Buller, Family, G.M.C. Massey, Memoirs. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

