Doodle Playground #2 in the Rear View

It’s been over a week since I previewed my second pop-up doodle playground for a Creative Mornings Austin Field Trip so it’s time for quick peek in the rear view before moving forward.

I’d love to say I was more organized this time, but that would be an exaggeration at best. I did have a better sense of how the pieces fit together, but once again, I got a little scattered in presenting the chunks in sequence.
Note to self: make a better outline, even, perhaps in your own little doodle book.

Still, all in all, it went well again. The morning of the meeting, we had pouring rain and I worried that the rain and the downtown location, with its attendant parking problems, would dampen enthusiasm and reduce our turnout. But while not all our pre-registrants made it, we had a healthy group of about 15 people to play around.
(btw: a big shout-out to Preacher for hosting us in their agency’s adjacent gallery space.)

I’ve already described a lot of what happens in these playground settings so I’ll spare you the details. Once again, I told some stories, gave a bit of background about visual language and doodling basics, demonstrated a few simple visual elements, and made them have fun doodling with each other, all while demonstrating you don’t have to be able to draw to doodle.

I did forget to mention on Dan Roam’s concept of “visual grammar,” (from Blah-Blah Blah or What to Do When Words Don’t Work) which really was my intro to visual thinking. That was supposed to be a bit of segue from the “Once Upon a Time…” story into my personal journey into doodling. I also forgot to take any pictures, so I still have to track some down later. I did notice several people snapping shots.

The important point: it worked! Nervousness and disorganization aside, it worked. Once again, the people at the playground enjoyed the presentation parts, had some fun doodling alone and together, and walked away with a renewed sense of the doodle as a meaningful way of taking notes.

Next step: put together Doodle Playground Part 2: “Do I Have to Draw You a Picture?” It might look a little something like this…

DOODLE PLAYGROUND 2: Do I have to draw you a picture ? Well, it might help, you know.

I’ll let you know when that’s coming up…think early March, maybe in conjunction with SXSWedu.

 

About bullersbackporch

I am a native Austinite, a high-tech Luddite, lover of music, movies and stories and a born trainer-explainer.
This entry was posted in Buller, creativity, doodle and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

