Dipping a Toe in the AI Pool

Well, I’m late to the party again.  It seems like everybody else has already been dabbling in artificial intelligence (AI) with chatbots and AI images and here I am, a typical high-tech Luddite, intensely interested but extremely wary.  But after my recent experience at SXSW Edu hearing educators talk about positive aspects of AI, I’ve become curious to decide to check it out.

To dive right in or to dip a toe? As the title suggests, I’m taking it slowly. Here’s an initial conversation I had today with ChatGPT:

AI image by Craiyon, prompt: "Artificial Intelligence"

AI image by Craiyon, prompt: “Artificial Intelligence”

HOW DO I EVEN BEGIN?

(ChatGPT) Beginning can feel overwhelming, but breaking things down into smaller steps can make it more manageable. What are you trying to begin? Let’s figure out the first step together.

I WANT TO TALK TO YOU BUT YOU WORRY ME.

(ChatGPT)  I understand that talking to an AI might feel unfamiliar or even worrisome at first. It’s completely normal to have reservations. If you have any concerns or questions, feel free to share them with me. I’m here to assist and provide information to the best of my ability. Your comfort and trust are important to me.

I’m still at the barely dabbling stage, hoping that my gradually increasing familiarity will free me to play around a bit more freely. The promise is alluring. I need to experience more before I can even begin to know enough to ask myself the right questions. Then, I can learn how to ask the right questions — prompts — so the various AI engines will produce useful results.

Like a toddler still cautious of standing alone, I find myself stepping lightly.

National AI Literacy DayFortunately, there are plenty of helping hands nearby. I am excited to find out that tomorrow is National AI Literacy Day, with a mission “to promote AI literacy through education.”

The Colorado Education Initiative is offering an hour-long free webinar as part of AI Literacy Day so I figure I’ll tune in and check it out. Drop in if you, too, want to learn more about AI.

 

About bullersbackporch

I am a native Austinite, a high-tech Luddite, lover of music, movies and stories and a born trainer-explainer.
This entry was posted in Buller and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.